470 History of Wake Forest College
were colored servants; three were members of the faculty; the re-
maining seventeen were students, some of whom were no longer in
residence. In 1847 the total number of members was forty-seven of
whom thirty-one were students. With such a large proportion of
students the church found not its least important work in training them
for lives of Christian service, often licensing some of them to preach
and sometimes ordaining them. The students continued to serve the
church as officers and were almost solely chosen for the offices of
deacons and clerk.3
Nor was the church membership nominal for students in those days;
even the lay members who held no office had important duties laid
upon them, often being called upon to serve on committees and to be
delegates to union meetings, associations and conventions. They too
were expected to attend all meetings of the church whether for
worship or for business, and if absent from the monthly conference
were expected to make proper excuse therefor. In cases of discipline
affecting those of their own number they were the mediators. There is
abundant evidence that the students found the church life most
stimulating and that they devoted their attention and time to its duties
and obligations with much enthusiasm.
Wait's resignation as president of the College became effective at
the Commencement in June, 1845, but for some years he continued to
reside at the Wake Forest and served as pastor until May 8, 1847,
when his resignation was received and Dr. William Hooper elected
pastor in his stead. It was generally understood that the president of
the College should be pastor of the church. Accordingly after
President Wait gave up his place as head of the College, the church
saw fit, on February 7, 1846, to request
3 The clerks from the constitution of the church until 1862 were as follows:
August 30, 1835, George Washington; August 6, 1836, R. M. Noxon; August 12,
1837, W. W. Childers; August 13, 1839, O. F. Baxter; September 11, 1840, John B.
White; June 11, 1842, Isaac N. Lamb; October 7, 1842, G. Bernard; January 28,
1843, M. T. Yates; June 8, 1844, A. McDowell; February 14, 1849, H. B. Folk;
June 6, 1849, J. C. Averitt; November 8,1851, R. P. Jones; September 25, 1855,
John M. Brewer; October 24, 1857, G. S. Jones; April 21, 1860, J. L. Carroll; May
14, 1862, John M. Brewer. Of these all except White and Brewer were students
during their term of office.
Previous Page Next Page