William Bailey Royall, Chairman of Faculty 219
we feared were clean gone away from religion. There were ten or fifteen professions
from the unconverted, some of whom we hope to baptize next Sunday.
That things were going bad with the church is indicated by the fact
that there were further exclusions from it in the spring of 1884, five of
them students, two of whom were afterwards restored and became
well-known Baptist preachers. But probably Pastor Vann was
mistaken in supposing that it was owing to the fact that up till this
time the pastor of the church had been also the presiding officer of the
College. Both the church and the institution had profited by having
such men as Presidents Wingate and Pritchard as pastor. It is much
more probable that the low state of discipline in the church was
indicative of the general demoralization that had grown up in the
College at this time. So far as the records show this demoralization
began when the faculty temporized with the fraternities and allowed
them to continue at the College under one concession or another for
several years after the Trustees had forbidden them. As was natural,
the continuance of these fraternities by permission of the faculty bred
a spirit of insurrection among the other students and caused them to
commit excesses never before heard of at Wake Forest. At this time
the College had its first recorded trouble with hazing. The records
show maltreatment of new students. The perpetrators sometimes were
detected, and on one occasion five students were given ten demerits
each for "calling to persons passing through the Campus." On
September 14, 1883, the faculty passed a regulation with severe
penalties, against "hazing, maltreating or otherwise offering
indignities to any class of students."
It was in all probability owing to this temporary breaking away
from control on the part of the students and the disturbed moral
conditions of the College at this time that Pastor Vann found the
church lacking discipline, and not owing to the cause he assigns.
Actually, the students kept the close relations to the church inherited
from the past. On March 12, 1884, four of them, J. N. Boothe, J. D.
Boushall, J. F. Spainhour, and E. F. Tatum, were elected deacons.
During the year, seven of them
Previous Page Next Page