Students, Graduates, Faculty, Publications 339
was W. W. Barnes who for more than a third of a century has been on
the faculty of the Southwestern Theological Seminary of Fort Worth,
Of the graduates of the years of President Taylor's administration,
nine became missionaries on foreign fields. These were T. C. Britton,
1886, China; E. F. Tatum, 1887, China; W. E. Crocker, 1890, China;
F. M. Royall, 1891, China and Palestine; S. J. Porter, 1893, Brazil; W.
C. Newton, 1895, China; T. Neill Johnson, 1898, Japan and China; J.
M. Justice, 1905, Argentine; E. A. Turner, 1905, China; and two
others who did not graduate, T. Lee Blalock, 1891-92, and T. J.
Hudson, 1891-92, became missionaries to China.
Another important group of the graduates during the years of
President Taylor's administration found their chief interest in
education. At the head of the group comes A. T. Robertson, 1885,
much interested in the ancient classics while in college, and winner of
the Latin medal; though he failed by a hair of winning the Silcox
Greek medal also, it was his preparation in classical Greek in
Professor W. B. Royall's classes that was basic in his extensive and
thorough studies of New Testament Greek in the Southern Baptist
Theological Seminary, which indicated him as the successor of the
great John A. Broadus in the chair of New Testament Greek and
Interpretation in that institution. Continuing the method of accurate
and analytical study he began at Wake Forest, in 1914 he brought to
completion his Grammar of the Greek New Testament in the Light of
Historical Research, which won for him world-wide distinction. He
did much else in the way of productive scholarship, some half
hundred volumes in all. His students, however, regarded him not as
author but as teacher.
Already in the beginning of President Taylor's administration it was
recognized that those who were to teach in college should have that
training in their departments of study which is indicated by the degree
of Doctor of Philosophy. We have seen that Charles Lee Smith, a
graduate of the class of 1884, had gone to Johns Hopkins University,
where he won his degree, being the pioneer in that line
Previous Page Next Page