Commencements 267
Battle was called upon in 1891 in the absence of the appointed
speaker and did well in his discussion of "Noble Restlessness." In
1882, the distinguished Charles F. Deems came from his New York
Church and preferring to instruct rather than amuse his hearers spoke
on Superstition. "The whole tenor of his address," said the reporter in
the Wake Forest Student, "was to prove that faith must necessarily
enter into the intellectual make-up of our people, and that science and
religion were developed from the same foundation, fostered by the
same mother, and if science was a necessary constituent of our age,
religion must be equally so." Sometimes the choice fell on great
educators-in 1871 J. L. M. Curry; in 1898 President E. B. Andrews
then of Brown University; in 1899, W. P. Trent, then of the
University of the South, but soon to be called to the chair of English
in Columbia University; in 1900, A. W. Small, of the University of
Chicago; in 1902, Shailer Matthews of the same institution.
For some years after the opening of the century those chosen to
deliver the literary addresses were almost uniformly men of much
professional and literary prominence-R. P. Johnston, an able Baptist
minister of New York, 1903; Bliss Perry, editor of the Atlantic
Monthly, 1906; President Ira Remsen of Johns Hopkins University in
1907; Governor Simeon E. Baldwin of Connecticut in 1914; President
Henry C. King of Oberlin College in 1917; Charles E. Jefferson in
1924; Walter Lippmann in 1926; J. H. Finley in 1927; President
Clarence A. Barbour of Brown University in 1930; W. E. Dodd in
1932; Douglas Freeman in 1933; Geo. F. Zook in 1936; President S.
C. Garrison of Peabody College in 1939; and President F. P. Graham
of the University of North Carolina in 1940. In this same period other
speakers were Josephus Daniels, twice, in 1921 and 1935. In addition
to these were those brilliant men already mentioned as preachers of
the sermons and also the speakers in the years 1910-16. Several Wake
Forest men also, in addition to Garrison already mentioned, were
thought worthy to stand in the noble company of speakers; these were
Representative E. Y. Webb,
Previous Page Next Page