286 History of Wake Forest College
of the College, and in accord with these words of Governor
Ehringhaus, which alone have been preserved: "The record of the
service of Wake Forest not only to the denomination but to the State
which it serves is one which challenges the admiration of all who
delight in a great and consecrated effort."
In the afternoon the new Wait Hall, erected on the site of the Old
College Building, was dedicated, with the presentation speech being
made by E. J. Britt, an attorney of Lumberton, speaking for the
alumni, while Claude Gore, president of the Board of Trustees, made
the speech of acceptance, closing with the prayer of Samuel Wait,
"May the blessings of heaven descend forever upon this institution."
In the evening at 6:30 o'clock the alumni gathered in the
gymnasium for their annual banquet, but in greater numbers than ever
before. There were 1,040 present, the oldest being L. W. Bagley of
the class of 1876, the youngest the 105 members of the graduating
class. A telegram was read from the oldest alumnus, Hardiman Dunn
Fowler, of California, of the class of 1857, more than 100 years old.
Short speeches were made telling of the services and attainments of
Wake Forest men in various fields, by J. M. Broughton of lawyers; by
J. Santford Martin of writers and teachers; by H. A. Royster of
physicians and surgeons; by Oscar Haywood of preachers; by T. E.
Browne of nonprofessional alumni.
Mr. Broughton gave the following list of Wake Forest men who had
become prominent in public life: Governors: W. W. Kitchin, T. W.
Bickett; U. S. Senators: J. W. Bailey, F. M. Simmons; Federal District
Judges: J. J. Hayes, I. M. Meekins, E. Y. Webb; Justice of N. C.
Supreme Court: L. R. Varser; Representatives in Congress: J. H. Kerr,
Claude Kitchin, W. W. Kitchin, C. H. Martin, J. E. Fowler, S. M.
Brinson, J. J. Davis; N. C. Superior Court Judges; D. L. Ward, G. E.
Midyette, J. H. Kerr, Hoyle Sink, G. W. Ward, A. W. Dunn, E. W.
Timberlake, C. M. Cooke, J. H. Webb, E. B. Jones, H. A. Foushee,
W. A. Devin, R. H. Parker; Attorneys General of North Carolina: T.
W. Bickett, D. G. Brummitt. In speaking of the
Previous Page Next Page