the Board of Trustees would have to face the question of Dr. Tribble's
future again―right at the time the physical move to Winston-Salem
was taking place. On June 23 a group of prominent and highly
respected alumni, some of them descended from revered Wake Forest
leaders, sent a letter to all of the trustees urging them "either to secure
Dr. Tribble's resignation or declare the office of president vacant."
Among the signers were George W. Paschal, Jr., Hubert M. Poteat,
Jr., Thurman Kitchin, Jr., S. Wait Brewer, Jr., J. Melville Broughton,
Jr., W. Walton Kitchin, R. Bruce White, Jr., Claude Kitchin Josev,
Hiram H. Ward, Horace R. Kornegay, Walter C. Holton, and Fred S.
With such heavy artillery brought to bear, a showdown was ob-
viously impending, and the Board of Trustees divided into two war-
ring factions. After hours of debate at a crucial meeting of the trustees
in Winston-Salem on June 29, the decisive vote was taken by roll call.
It showed twenty favoring Tribble's retention and thirteen seeking his
discharge. Afterward Dr. Tyner of Leaksville declared angrily that the
minority had been "gagged" and "steamrollered," and Basil Watkins
indicated that one of the points at issue was that the report of the
investigating committee of some months earlier had never been
circulated to the entire membership of the board: "There are men on
that board who don't know to this day what's in the committee report.
The Executive Committee won't let them see it."
The trustee minutes give the following breakdown of the ballot:
voting for discharge, in addition to Tyner and Watkins, were O. O.
Allsbrook, Wilmington; R. C. Bridger, Bladenboro; Mrs. J. Melville
Broughton, Raleigh; Egbert L. Davis, Winston-Salem; Dr. J. Bivins
Helms, Morganton; A. J. Hutchins, Canton; Rev. Donald G. Myers,
Reidsville; Edwin M. Stanley, Greensboro; William W. Staton,
Sanford; Dr. Vernon W. Taylor, Elkin; and Rev. J. B. Willis, Hamlet.
Voting against discharge were Henry L. Bridges, Rev. Broadus E.
Jones, and William L. Wyatt, all of Raleigh; Irving E. Carlyle and
William J. Conrad, Winston-Salem; Lex Marsh and Rev. Claude U.
Broach, Charlotte; Rev. Douglas M. Branch, Rocky Mount; Shearon
Harris, Albemarle; Judge Johnson J. Hayes, Wilkesboro; Charles H.
Jenkins, Ahoskie; Emory C. McCall, Lenoir; Robert A. McIntyre,
Lumberton; Rev. Charles A. Maddrey,
Previous Page Next Page