24 THE HISTORY OF WAKE FOREST COLLEGE
all, Wake Forest simply did not have faculty sufficient to cope with its
suddenly bursting population.
A few professors who had been called away during the war had
returned, and several new teachers were brought in. Dr. C. S. Black
reported back to the Chemistry Department which he had headed
since 1930, gladly doffing his major's uniform. In the fall of 1945 the
English Department added Dr. Henry L. Snuggs as an assistant
professor, Beulah Lassiter as an instructor in freshman English, and
Tal Bradford White to handle dramatics and play production. John W.
Nowell, with a new doctorate in chemistry, joined that department. He
was the son of Dr. J. W. Nowell, who for many years had been head
of the Chemistry Department. Dr. Bruce Benton came to the Religion
Department, and Wilfred Buck Yearns was added to the history
Even so, teachers had too many students in their classes and too
many papers to grade. They nevertheless accepted the increased de-
mands in good grace, happy that the college was once more fulfilling
its primary mission.
Thus the college prospered in 1946, bursting at the seams, rich with
student talent, preparing to enjoy its most ambitious building program
ever, delighting in the war's end. And it was just at that juncture that
there arose the most dramatic development ever to occur in the life of
the college―an offer so startling and breathtaking that it was to
change Wake Forest forever after.