Honorary Degrees Awarded
A. Douglas Aldrich, pastor, First Baptist Church of Gastonia, Doctor of
Divinity, 1967.
William Brantley Aycock, chancellor, University of North
Carolina, Doctor of Laws, 1959.
Charles Henry Babcock, Winston-Salem philanthropist, Doctor of
Laws, 1958.
John Stewart Battle, Governor of Virginia, Doctor of Laws, 1953.
Ivan Loveridge Bennett, military chaplain, Doctor of Divinity,
Olin Trivette Binkley, professor, Southern Baptist Theological
Seminary, Doctor of Divinity, 1951.
Sankey Lee Blanton, pastor, First Baptist Church of Wilmington,
Doctor of Divinity, 1945.
Walter J. Bone, Nashville Judge, Doctor of Laws, 1954.
Carey Hoyt Bostian, associate dean, North Carolina State College,
Doctor of Science, 1954.
Douglas McKinley Branch, general secretary, Baptist State
Convention, Doctor of Divinity, 1956.
Nathan C. Brooks, Jr., president, Carver School of Missions,
Doctor of Divinity, 1957.
Ray Everett Brown, superintendent, University of Chicago Clinics
and Hospitals, Doctor of Humanities, 1958.
John Tyler Caldwell, chancellor, North Carolina State College,
Doctor of Laws, 1960.
A. Carlyle Campbell, president, Meredith College, Doctor of Laws,
1950. Leslie Hartwell Campbell, president, Campbell College,
Doctor of Laws, 1955
Irving Edward Carlyle, Winston-Salem attorney, Doctor of Laws,
1953. Warren Tyree Carr, pastor, Wake Forest Baptist Church,
Doctor of Divinity, 1965.
Guy Thomas Carswell, Charlotte attorney, Doctor of Laws, 1962.
Carl Henry Claudy, executive secretary, Masonic Service
Association of the United States, Doctor of Letters, 1949.
Albert Coates, director, Institute of Government, Doctor of Laws,
1960. Henry Clay Coburn, military surgeon, Doctor of Science,
Oscar Creech, Jr., professor of surgery, Tulane University Medical
School, Doctor of Science, 1966.
Previous Page Next Page