visitation and victory
notes |
Francis Edward “Ed” Wooters of Goldsboro
was president of the student body for 1970–71;
Dianne C. Little of Marietta, Georgia, was
Women’s Government Association president
(the last person to hold this position); Samuel
F. Lewis of Burlington chaired the Honor
Council; and Samuel T. Currin of Oxford
chaired the Men’s Judicial Board. Max William
McCollum of Monroe was president of the
College Union.
Richard Kirk Jonas of Richmond, Virginia,
served as editor and Douglas C. Walker of
Annandale, Virginia, as co-editor of Old Gold
and Black; John Steven Baker was editor of
The Student; and Pamela K. Jones of Galax,
Virginia, was editor of The Howler.
Three seniors were awarded Woodrow Wilson
National Fellowships: Eugene Jeffrey Grif­
fith of McLean, Virginia; Fred Kevin Mauney
of New Bern; and Duke Wilson of Winston-
Salem (formerly of Balboa, Canal Zone).
Old Gold and Black again! was named the
best large college newspaper in the Carolinas
and was also given an All-American honor
rating by the Associated Collegiate Press.
Freemon A. Mark of Elon College and Fred
Kevin Mauney of New Bern were named “Stu-
dents of the Year” by Old Gold and Black.
1971 senior orators were: Carol Lee Clark of
Asheville; Freemon A. Mark of Elon College;
Fred Kevin Mauney of New Bern; and Laura
A. Stringfellow of Bethesda, Maryland.
Stringfellow received the A.D. Ward Medal.
Debaters Thomas Cooper of Orlando, Fla.,
and Charles “Chuck” Meyrick of Bedford,
Mass., finished first at the Washington and Lee
novice debate tournament. Both affirmative
(Sandra Conrad of Bakersville and C.H. Mc­
Mahan of Greensboro) and negative (Pamela
Carlson of South St. Paul, Minn., and Lee
Knight of Greensboro) teams won top honors
in the North Carolina Debate Conference.
Debaters on the negative team (Pamela Carl­
son of South St. Paul, Minn., and Lynne Eick­
holt of Salisbury) won top honors at a novice
debate tournament at Morris Harvey College.
At the 1971 Commencement exercises honorary
degrees were awarded to North Carolina Senator
Samuel J. Ervin Jr.; Ben C. Fisher, executive sec-
retary of the Education Commission of the
Southern Baptist Convention; Robert E.R. Hunt-
ley, president of Washington and Lee University;
and W. Randall Lolley, pastor of the First Baptist
Church of Winston-Salem. Fisher preached the
baccalaureate sermon, and Huntley gave the
Commencement address.
Previous Page Next Page