| the history of wake forest
The 1970 ACC championship football team won
numerous honors. Six players were named to
the All-ACC first team: Bill Bobbora, Win
Headley, Larry Hopkins, Tracy Lounsbury,
Larry Russell, and Ed Stetz. Coach Cal Stoll
was named ACC Coach of the Year. Richard
Bozoian received the ACC Award for Excel-
lence in Scholarship and Athletics.
In addition to his other honors, basketball star
Charlie Davis was named a first team All-
American, was designated the ACC Player of
the Year, was appointed for the third straight
year to the All-ACC first team, and received
from Wake Forest one of two Arnold Palmer
Athlete-of-the-Year Awards. Football star Win
Headley also was named Arnold Palmer Ath-
lete of the Year.
The ACC championship golf team placed fourth
in NCAA competition, and Lanny Wadkins, for
the second year, was named a first team All-
American, as was Jim Simons.
Tennis player Jim Haslam was named again to
the All-ACC first team.
The 1970 Atlantic Coast Conference championship football team
Previous Page Next Page