| the history of wake forest
1As I have indicated in my “Personal Preface,” I have not included, in this History, details of the history of the
School of Medicine, but I would be overlooking an important moment for that School if I did not stress the signifi-
cance of the appointment of Richard Janeway as Dean. I quote from Manson Meads’s The Miracle on Haw-
thorne Hill: “The choice of a new dean was not difficult, as one person stood out as the obvious candidate—Dr.
Richard Janeway. Janeway came to Bowman Gray as a resident in neurology in 1965, following two years in the
Air Force. He is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, where he also took internship
and residency training in medicine. He joined the Bowman Gray faculty in 1966, and was selected as a Markle
Scholar two years later. In addition to a growing national reputation as a clinician, teacher and investigator in
neurology, he had demonstrated exceptional leadership and administrative ability while serving one year as in-
terim chairman of the Department of Neurology and thereafter in the implementation of the new curriculum.”
I would also want to record my own appreciation for the many associations I had with Dean Janeway during
the years in which we both served Wake Forest, as well as my admiration for his exceptional skills and talents as a
forceful and imaginative leader in medical—and in University—affairs.
Professor of Neu-
rology Richard
Janeway, a mem-
ber of the medical
faculty since 1966,
was named Dean of
the Bowman Gray
School of Medicine.1
His predecessor
as Dean, Manson
Meads, retained the title of Vice
President for Medical Affairs.
J. William Straughan Jr., Assistant in Public
Affairs, was named Director of Development.
Julius Corpening (B.A., 1949), director of
the Urban Affairs Institute, joined the develop-
ment staff as director of estate planning. W.
Stephen Fedora (B.A, 1970) and Robert
Dale Mills (B.A., 1971) were appointed as-
sistants to the Director of Development.
Julie Davis Mason (B.A., 1969) was named
assistant to the director of alumni affairs, a
position in which she continued for two years.
In 1971–1972 H. William DeWeese of
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, was president
of the student body; David M. Hall of Albe-
marle chaired the Honor Council; Frederick C.
“Fritz” Heidgerd of Boca Raton, Florida,
chaired the Judicial Board (now coeducation-
al); and David Clark Smith Jr. of Lexington
was president of the College Union.
William Russell “Rusty” Brantley of Winston-
Salem was editor of Old Gold and Black, Vaud
A. Travis of Charlotte edited The Student, and
Richard B. Sutton of Martinsville, Virginia,
was editor of the The Howler.
Helen Turner of Spartanburg, South Carolina,
was named “Student of the Year” by Old Gold
and Black.
Senior orators were: William Russell “Rusty”
Brantley of Winston-Salem; Susan House
David of Springfield, Virginia; Linda Jane
Tolar of Washington, D.C.; and Keith W.
Vaughan of Bluefield, West Virginia.
Vaughan received the A.D. Ward Medal.
Wake Forest debaters (Elmore Alexander
of High Point, Lynne Eickholt of Salisbury,
Marcus Ethridge of Madison, Tenn., and Janice
Gruber of Kingsport, Tenn.) won the first
place four-man team award at William and
Mary’s Marshall-Wythe Debate Tournament.
Rebecca Armentrout of Thomasville and
Richard Kendrick of Middletown, R.I., won
the University of Richmond Debate Tourna-
ment. Richard Kendrick and Keith Vaughan
also won a tournament at Butler University.
Richard Janeway
Previous Page Next Page