| the history of wake forest
Four teams for women athletes were created in
1971–1972: golf under coach Marjorie Crisp,
and basketball, field hockey, and volleyball
under Instructor in Physical Education Nora
Lynn Finch (B.S., M.A. Ed., Western Carolina).
These teams were pioneers in the movement to
give attention, for the first time, to the impor-
tance—indeed, necessity—of an intercollegiate
athletics program for Wake Forest women.
Jerome White, from the outdoor track and
field program, won the ACC championship in
the high jump and was named a first team
All-American. Jim Simons was the ACC indi-
vidual champion in golf, was named a first
team All-American (for the second time), and
was selected as the Arnold Palmer Athlete of
the Year.
ACC Flight Champions in tennis included Dean
Mathias in No. 5 singles and Audley Bell and
Dean Mathias in No. 2 doubles.
Six Wake Forest athletes in other sports were
named to the All-ACC first team: in baseball,
Rich Eschen; in football, Bill Bobbora, Steve
Coy C. Carpenter, Dean of the School of
Medicine (1936–1963) and Vice-President
for Medical Affairs (1963-1967).
Died November 7, 1971.
Gilbert T. Stephenson (B.A., 1902;
M.A., 1904), Professor of Law (part-time),
1952–1956. Died June 9, 1972.
Jerome White
Bowden, Larry Hopkins, Larry Russell, and
Ed Stetz. Larry Hopkins also received the
ACC Award for Excellence in Scholarship and
Golfer Arnold Palmer was inducted into the
Sports Hall of Fame.
Previous Page Next Page