| the history of wake forest
Three Wake Forest
athletes were named
first team All-Ameri-
cans: Chuck Ramsey
in football, Tom Rae
in outdoor track, and
Curtis Strange in
golf. Ramsey and Rae
were also named to
the All-ACC first
team; Rae was the
ACC individual cham-
pion in the steeple-
chase event; and Strange won the individual
national championship in golf. (Strange was
the youngest player ever to win this honor.)
Bob Byman won ACC individual championship
honors in golf. (See the text of this chapter for
further discussion of Wake Forest golf.)
Basketball player Tony Byers was named the
Arnold Palmer Athlete of the Year. Football
player Dan Stroup won the Conference’s Jim
Weaver Award and the ACC Award for Excel-
lence in Scholarship and Athletics. Stroup,
together with football player Tom Fehring
and Rick Sievers, were Academic All-ACC
Joe Lee “Jody” Puckett (B.A, 1970) was named
Academic Adviser and Assistant Trainer.
Julie Mason (B.A.,
1969) was named
Director of Promo-
tions, Programs, and
Public Relations for
the Deacon Club.
The Wake Forest
Sports Hall of Fame
welcomed three new
members: golfer Billy Joe Patton (B.A., 1943);
football and baseball star John “Red” Cochran
(B.S., 1947); and Horace “Bones” McKinney,
head basketball coach from 1957 to 1965.
Zeno Martin Jr. (B.A., 1960) was named busi-
ness manager of athletics.
Hubert A. Jones (B.A., 1908, LL.B., M.A.,
1909), Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
(member of the faculty, 1908–1959). Died
February 6, 1974.
James Carey Blalock, Associate Professor of
Chemistry (member of the faculty since 1950).
Died April 10, 1974.
Karl M. Scott, Professor Emeritus of Manage-
ment (member of the faculty, 1955–1971).
Died May 1974.
Julie Davis [Mason] Griffin
Horace “Bones” McKinney
Chuck Ramsey
Previous Page Next Page