cause and effect
notes |
Keith Rogers of Durham was president of the
student body; Kimberly Williams of Kinston
was president of the College Union; Stephan
Futrelle of Rockingham edited Old Gold and
Black; Sue Ellen Farmer of Radford, Virginia,
edited The Student; and Mary Beth Touch-
stone of Fayetteville was editor of The Howler.
Ruthann Louise Hibbs of Langhorne, Pennsyl-
vania, was recognized as the first Wake Forest
woman to receive a commission as second lieu-
tenant in the University ROTC program.
Senior orators were: Mark Wayne Leuchten-
berger of Lima, Peru; Emily Jane Owens of
Charlotte; and Michael Jac Whatley of Asheboro.
Leuchtenberger received the A.D. Ward Medal.
Co-chairmen of the Honor Council were Eddie
Musselwhite of Lumberton and David Thom-
as of Myrtle Beach, S.C.
Debaters John Graham and Ross Smith fin-
ished among the final four teams at the Har-
vard University forensics tournament. They
subsequently received a first round bid to the
National Debate Tournament in Denver and
placed fifth.
Sophomore Neil
Rector of Dunwoody,
Georgia, won the
Truman Scholarship
for North Carolina.
Robert D. Mills (B.A., 1971), member of the
alumni and development staff since 1972, was
named Director of Alumni Activities. Martha E.
Shore1 (B.A., M.A., North Carolina) was ap-
pointed Foundations Officer, succeeding Nancy
R. Parker. Marc C. Miller (B.A, 1977) began a
one-year assignment as Assistant to the Direc-
tor of Alumni Affairs. H. Douglas Lee resigned
as Director of University Relations.
Neil Rector
She had served in 1976–1977 as Administration Coordinator for the Office for Research.
Kenneth T. Raynor (B.A., 1914), Professor
Emeritus of Mathematics (member of the fac-
ulty, 1926–1961). Died November 12, 1977.2
Andrew Lewis Aycock (B.A., 1926), Profes-
sor Emeritus of English (member of the fac-
ulty, 1928–1971). Died April 10, 1978.3
Htin Aung, Visiting Professor of Asian Stud-
ies on several occasions, beginning in 1965.
Died May 10, 1978.4
Forrest W. Clonts (B.A., 1920), Professor
Emeritus of History (member of the faculty,
1922–1924, 1925–1967). Died June 4, 1978.5
See “K.T. Raynor 1890-1977” in The Wake Forest Review, VIII (Winter 1978), 13.
See “Andrew Lewis Aycock 1900–1978” in The Wake Forest Review, VIII (Spring 1978), 12.
See “Htin Aung: Friend of Wake Forest” in The Wake Forest Review, VIII (Summer 1978), 11.
See “A Tribute to Professor Clonts” by Bynum Shaw in The Wake Forest Magazine (May 1967), pp.
29–30. Also see “Forrest W. Clonts, 1897–1978”in The Wake Forest Review, VIII (Summer 1978), 12.
Previous Page Next Page