and a tangerine bowl
notes |
James R. “Jay” Helvey of Lexington was
president of the student body. Kelly Wrenn
of Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, and Scott Mc-
Nulty of Haines City, Florida, were co-chairs
of the Honor Council. William J. Boyle of
Rumson, New Jersey, and terry Payne of
Fayetteville, Arkansas, co-chaired the Stu-
dent Judicial Board.
Editors for the 1979–1980 school year were:
Robin Byrd of Gatesville and Paula Dale of
Charlotte (The Student); catherine “cathy”
Woodard of Kenly (Old Gold and Black); and
Mary Elizabeth Heim of Bethesda, Maryland
(The Howler).
The faculty approved the charter of Alpha Phi
Alpha, Wake Forest’s first black fraternity.
Nine students were in the first pledge class.
Senior orators were: Joseph c. Davis Jr. of
Conway; John Marc Gulley of Winston-Salem;
Jane cornwall Jackson of Aldie, Virginia; and
Evelyn Byrd tribble of Miami, Florida. Davis
received the A.D. Ward Medal.
Debaters Kim Metzler of Atlantis, Florida,
and Star Muir of Winston-Salem won first
place at the Emory University tournament.
They subsequently qualified for the National
Debate Tournament in Tucson.
The Wake Forest business team (Jerry Myers
of Monroe; Elaine Rihtarchik of Rockville,
Maryland; amy Siemer of Cincinnati, Ohio;
and Michael twilley of Timonium, Maryland)
took first place in the fifteenth annual Inter-
national Business Games at Emory University.
Wake Forest thereby became the first school
ever to win this top trophy twice.
President Scales with former President Gerald Ford
u tHE 1980 cOMMENcEMENt
At a special University convocation on April
14, former President Gerald Ford. During the
1980 Commencement exercises, journalist
Russell Baker, Baptist minister Frank Camp-
bell, President of Salem College Merrimon
Cuninggim, novelist Peter DeVries, and Epis-
copal minister charles u. Harris (B.A., 1935).
Cuninggim delivered the Commencement ad-
dress, and Harris preached the baccalaureate
Raft race on the Yadkin River
Previous Page Next Page