| the history of wake forest
u tHE yEaR IN atHlEtIcS
Football quarterback Jay Venuto was named
ACC Player of the Year, and John Mackovic
was named ACC Coach of the Year. James Mc-
Dougald received the Arnold Palmer Award
for Athlete of the Year. McDougald and three
other football players (Wayne Baumgard-
ner, James Parker, and Jay Venuto) were
named to the All-ACC first team. landon King
was an Academic All-ACC selection.
Golfer Gary Hallberg, winner of the ACC indi-
vidual championship, was named an All-Amer-
ican for the fourth straight year, and he and
three other golfers (tom Knox, Gary Pinns,
and Robert Wrenn) were placed on the All-
ACC first team. Jesse Haddock was named ACC
Coach of the Year.
Tennis players tony Kieffer and armand
Molino were a Flight Champion No. 2 team in
doubles. Baseball player Brick Smith was
placed on the All-ACC first team.
Women’s sports reached a new milestone in
1980 with the creation of the Marge Crisp
Athlete-of-the-Year Award (designed to par-
allel the Arnold Palmer Award for male ath-
letes). The first Crisp Award went to basketball
player Jane Jackson, who also won the Con-
ference’s Marie James Award and received the
first ACC Award to a woman for Excellence in
Scholarship and Athletics. The male recipient
of this same Award was football player Don-
nie Jackson. (See page 235.)
The Wake Forest Marching Band: from The Howler for 1980
Previous Page Next Page