music and farewell
notes |
assistant athletic director and athletic academic
counselor, succeeding Jody Puckett (B.A.,
1970), who had resigned as academic counselor
to open a State Farm Insurance agency.
Registrar Margaret Perry was elected Presi-
dent of the Southern Association of Collegiate
Registrars and Admissions Officers.
Hallie arrington (B.A., 1976), on the Regis-
trar’s staff since 1977, was named Assistant
William S. “Billy” Hamilton (B.A., M.A., Ph.D.,
Yale) served as an American Council in Educa-
tion intern for the 1982–1983 academic year.
Several changes occurred in the Alumni and
Development Office: Robert D. “Bobby”
thompson, Jr. (’82) was named Assistant to
the Director of Alumni Activities, replacing
craig Jackson; J. Reid Morgan (B.A., 1975;
J.D., 1977), Foundations Officer, was given
new responsibilities in the Office of the Presi-
dent and with the General Counsel; and San-
dra combs connor [Boyette] (B.A., UNC-
Charlotte; M.Ed., Converse), after one year as
staff writer, was named Foundations Officer.
David l. fouché (B.A., Furman University;
M.Div., Southeastern Baptist Theological
Seminary), was appointed Assistant Chaplain
and Baptist Campus Minister, succeeding
christal Williams.
Elizabeth lee James [Morgan] (B.A., North
Carolina State University; M.A., University of
Delaware), was appointed Graylyn Develop-
ment Officer. She had previously served as
curator for the Museum of Man.
u tHE yEaR IN atHlEtIcS
The football team, which had finished the regular
season with only three victories out of eleven
games and with a 0–6 record in the Conference,
was invited to play opposite ACC champion Clem-
son in the sixth annual Mirage Bowl in Tokyo.
There, on November 28—in the words of a Winston-
Salem Journal reporter—the “surprising” Deacons
“pushed the Tigers to the limit before dropping a
21–17 decision.” Wake Foresters in Tokyo, in-
cluding myself, were thrilled by the team’s
startling performance as well as by the unex-
pected opportunity we had to see Tokyo and
enjoy the hospitality of our Japanese hosts.
In women’s sports Dawn Powers (cross coun-
try/track and field) was named Marge Crisp
Athlete of the Year, and tennis player leslie
Van Houten received the ACC Award for Excel-
lence in Scholarship and Athletics.
Baseball player Bill Merrifield was again
named ACC Player of the Year and also re-
ceived the Arnold Palmer Athlete-of-the-Year
Award. He and his teammate tommy Gregg
were again placed on the All-ACC first team.
Football player Michael Ramseur was named
ACC Rookie of the Year. Three football players
(Phil Denfeld, Harry Newsome, and tim
Ryan) were placed on the All-ACC first team,
and three players (Denfeld, John Piedmonte,
and andy Seay) were Academic All-ACC selec-
tions. Andy Seay also received the ACC Award
for Excellence in Scholarship and Athletics.
Golfers Billy andrade and Jerry Haas were
named to the All-ACC first team, and basket-
ball player lee Garber was an academic All-
ACC selection.
Four Deacon athletes were inducted into the
Sports Hall of Fame: Jack Murdock, basketball
and baseball; Nick Sacrinty, football; Jim
Staton, football; and lanny Wadkins, golf.
Previous Page Next Page