administration. Both men were devoted alumni, Clay having been
a member of the last class to be graduated on the “old campus.”
One academic department somewhat outside the traditional
structure of the College, and therefore not included among the
College’s department histories, was the Department of Military
Science, which administered the ROTC program, composed of a
Basic Course (for freshmen and sophomores) and an Advanced
Course (for juniors and seniors). Upon graduation each student who
had successfully completed the Advanced Course received a com-
mission as Second Lieutenant in the United States Army Reserve.
It was customary for the Army to send to Wake Forest, as
chairman of Military Science, an officer with military experiences,
usually including overseas assignments, and also with appropriate
academic credentials. This officer would, typically, remain for one
to three years before going on to active duty elsewhere.
During the Scales years six Army officers served as Military
Science chairmen: Colonel Hugh J. Turner, Jr. (B.S., United States
Military Academy; M.A., Boston), 1966–1969; Colonel Joseph H.
Hoffman, Jr. (B.S., U.S. Military Academy), 1969–1973; Major Joe
P. Coffman (B.B.A., Marshall; M.A. Ed., Wake Forest), 1973–1975;
Lieutenant Colonel William A. Scott (B.S., City College of New York;
M. P. A., City University of New York), 1975–1977; Lieutenant Col-
onel Anderson H. Walters (B.S., U.S. Military Academy; M.S.,
Melvin Layton and Royce Weatherly
Previous Page Next Page