| the history of wake forest
Jeanne owen (B.S., UNC-Greensboro; M.C.S.,
Indiana; J.D., UNC-Chapel-Hill), at Wake Forest
since 1956, was Professor of Business Law. She
served as Acting Dean of the “School” during
the transition year of 1968–1969 and then as
Director of the B.B.A. Program in the new “Bab-
cock School” during the years (1969–1973) when
the B.B.A. degree was gradually being phased
out. She took a vigorous interest in University
affairs, notably including those matters that
prompted discussions in monthly meetings of
the College faculty. (See page 39.)
ralphcyrus“cy”heath(A.B., Princeton; M.B.A.,
D.B.A., Indiana), who had come to Wake Forest
in 1954, was Professor of Marketing. He served
briefly as Director of the Management Institute
in the new “Babcock School.” He retired in 1969.
Karl myron scott (B.A., Arkansas; M.S., Iowa
State College; Ph.D., Illinois), at Wake Forest
since 1955, was Professor of Management. He
retired in 1971 and died in 1974.
The only Associate Professor in the School of
Business Administration in 1967 was leon p.
cook Jr. (B.S., Virginia Tech; M.S., Tennessee;
C.P.A., Arkansas). He continued active in “Busi-
ness Administration” through its various orga-
nizational forms and beyond 1983 and, like
Professor Hylton, taught accountancy to gen-
erations of undergraduate students.
In 1971 thomas c. taylor (B.S., M.A., UNC-
Chapel-Hill; Ph.D., Louisiana State; C.P.A., UNC-
Chapel-Hill) came to the Department. He was
promoted to Associate Professor in 1976 and to
Professor in 1982. In 1980, when the “School of
Business and Accountancy” was reconstituted,
separate both from the College and from the Bab-
cock School, he was named Dean. In the spring of
1973 he was on leave for a faculty fellowship with
Price Waterhouse and Company. (See page 259.)
stephen ewing (B.S., Howard Payne; M.B.A.,
Baylor; D.B.A., Texas Tech) also came to Wake
Forest in 1971. He taught management and
quantitative methods and, with Taylor, was a
member of the 1979 committee which consid-
ered various options for the future organization
of business education at Wake Forest. He be-
came Associate Professor in 1977.
arun p. dewasthali (B.S., Bombay; M.S., Ph.D.,
Delaware), after teaching part-time from 1975
to 1977, became a full-time member of the fac-
ulty in 1977 and was named Associate Professor
in 1978. He taught primarily in the quantitative
and computer areas.
During the last years of the Scales administra-
tion the Department/School was strengthened
by the arrival of sayeste a. daser (B.A., Mid-
dle East Tech, Ankara; M.S., Ege, Izmir; Ph.D.,
UNC-Chapel-Hill), who came in 1978 and who
taught marketing; and ralph b. tower (B.A.,
Ph.D., UNC-Chapel-Hill; M.B.A., Cornell), who
came in 1980 and who taught accountancy. In
1982 three additional appointments were made:
umit akinc (B.S., Middle East Technical, Turkey;
M.B.A., Florida State; Ph.D., UNC-Chapel-Hill);
thomas s. goho (B.S., M.B.A., Pennsylvania;
Ph.D., UNC-Chapel-Hill), who transferred from
the Babcock School; and dale r. martin (B.S.,
M.S., Illinois State; D.B.A., Kentucky). Each of
these three men, as well as Ralph Tower, was at
the beginning of what would prove to be a con-
tinuing career at Wake Forest.
In addition to those already named, the follow-
ing faculty members taught in Business and
Accountancy (in one of its several incarnations)
between 1967 and 1983: raymond a. conely
(1968–1969); W. penn lewis (Spring 1969);
calvin l. myers (Spring 1969); William V.
luckie (1969–1971); Visiting Professor Karl d.
reyer (1969–1970); Joe n. norman (1969–
1972); William y. Wilkins Jr. (1972–1973);
douglas J. lincoln (1972–1974, 1976–1978);
Wellington dunford (1973–1974); William s.
sekely (1973–1976); robert glenn rhyne Jr.
(1974–1976); James l. mader (1975–1977);
Previous Page Next Page