ben m. seelbinder (B.S., Mississippi Delta
State College; M.A., Ph.D., North Carolina) joined
the faculty in 1959. He taught courses in algebra
and statistics, and in 1973 he became the Univer-
sity’s first Director of Records and Institutional
Research, giving invaluable leadership during
the preparation of the 1975 Self-Study for the
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
(See page 150.)
J. gaylord may (B.S., Wofford; M.A., Ph.D.,
Virginia) came to Wake Forest in 1961, was
promoted to Associate Professor in 1966, and
became Professor in 1980. He was active in the
field of operations research. W. graham may
(B.S., Wofford; M.A., Ph.D., Virginia), Gaylord
May’s twin brother, also came to Wake Forest in
1961, was promoted to Associate Professor in
1966, and became Professor in 1980. He was the
author of a textbook entitled Linear Algebra.
marcellus e. Waddill (B.A., Hampden-Sydney;
M.A., Ph.D., Pittsburgh) joined the faculty in
1962, became Associate Professor in 1967, and
was promoted to Professor in 1977. His research
was in recurrence sequences and in Fibonacci
sequences. In 1981 he succeeded Ivey Gentry as
department chairman. He was also a much admired
faculty adviser to the Sigma Chi fraternity.
fredric t. howard (B.S., M.A., Vanderbilt; Ph.D.,
Duke) came to Wake Forest in 1966 and was
promoted to Associate Professor in 1971 and to
Professor in 1978. He did research in number
theory and combinatorial analysis and was a
regular reviewer for Mathematical Reviews.
John V. baxley (B.S., M.S., Georgia Tech; Ph.D.,
Wisconsin) became a member of the Department
in 1968 and was promoted first to Associate
Professor (in 1971) and then to Professor (in
1978). He did research in differential equa-
tions. He received a grant of $4000 from Oak
Ridge National Laboratory and spent the 1972–
1973 academic year at the University of Illinois.
He collaborated with John Moorhouse of the
Department of Economics in creating a major in
mathematical economics.
richard d. carmichael, a B.S. alumnus of Wake
Forest, Class of 1964, with A.M. and Ph.D. de-
grees from Duke, returned to Wake Forest in
Fredric Howard, Nirmal Devi, Graham May, Ellen Kirkman, John Baxley, Elmer Hayashi, Ivey Gentry
Previous Page Next Page