| the history of wake forest
and the ideas of the Founders, especially as
expressed in The Federalist. He was a frequent
participant in campus forums on public issues
and a regular commentator on politics for WFDD.
(See page 113.)
richard d. sears (A.B., Clark; M.A., Ph.D.,
Indiana) had been Instructor since 1964 and
became Assistant Professor in 1969 and Asso-
ciate Professor in 1975. He was appointed to
the chair in 1981. He taught international poli-
tics and was especially interested in the Viet-
nam War. Beginning in 1980, he was District
Coordinator for the Great Decisions Series.
In 1969 Associate Professor James a.steintrager
(B.A., Notre Dame; M.A., Ph.D., Chicago) came to
the Department. He had taught at the University
of Texas. He was promoted to the rank of Professor
in 1976, and in the following year he became chair-
man. He taught political theory and was the author
of Bentham, a study of Jeremy Bentham published
by Oxford and Cornell University presses. He died
in 1981 and was remembered by his colleagues
for his “continuing concern for the complex in-
terrelations of religious, ethical, and political
values” and for his distinction as a “thorough,”
“stimulating,” and “provocative” teacher.
robert l. utley Jr. (B.A., Wake Forest; M.A.,
Ph.D., Duke) joined the Politics faculty in 1978 as
an Instructor and became an Assistant Profes-
sor two years later. He taught political theory
and in 1981 became Director of the Tocqueville
Forum on Contemporary Public Affairs, a highly
successful program for which he raised funds
and invited speakers of national significance.
Kathleen b. “Kathy” smith (B.A., Baldwin-
Wallace; M.A., Ph.D., Purdue) came to the Depart-
ment in 1981. She taught public administration
and urban politics and—like Moses, Fleer, Rein-
hardt, Schoonmaker, Broyles, Sears, and Utley—
would remain at Wake Forest in the years
beyond 1983.
Others who taught Politics at Wake Forest be-
tween 1967 and 1983 were: Katherine hagen
sebo (1967–1968), neal b. thornton (1967–
1974), Visiting Professor robert s. rankin
(1971–1972), William p. baumgarth (1973–
1975), W. harriet critchley (1974–1975),
James david fairbanks (1975–1977), david r.
herron (1980–1981), gerald f. gaus (1982–
1983), and mark a. cichock (1982–1985).
For the entire period under study the Department
chairman was Professor John e. Williams (B.A.,
Richmond; M.A., Ph.D., Iowa). To him goes much
credit for the steady and impressive growth that
the Department experienced during these six-
teen years. His own research was on race and
color concepts and on sex stereotypes. He was
the co-author of Race, Color, and the Young
Child and, with Deborah Best, of Measuring Sex
Stereotypes: A Thirty-Nation Study.
robert c. beck (B.A., Ph.D., Illinois), who
came to Wake Forest in 1959, was also Profes-
sor of Psychology in 1967. His research was on
thirst and incentive motivation and, later, on
attribution and emotion. He was the author of
Motivation: Theories and Principles and Apply-
ing Psychology: Understanding People. He also
served for three years (1967–1970) as director
of the University’s Office for Research.
the department of psychology
I have used extensively A History of the Department of Psychology: 1958–1982 by John E. Williams.
It is available in the University archives.
Previous Page Next Page