historical lists
honorary degrees
theodore floyd adams, Doctor of Divinity: 1968
samuel h. adler, Doctor of Fine Arts: 1983
clifford l. alexander, Jr., Doctor of Laws: 1978
a.r. ammons, Doctor of Letters: 1972
maya angelou, Doctor of Humane Letters: 1977
william c. archie, Doctor of Humane Letters: 1972
maung htin aung, Doctor of Humane Letters: 1970
russell w. baker, Doctor of Letters: 1980
John g. barrett, Doctor of Letters: 1982
carl e. bates, Doctor of Divinity: 1972
John fries blair, Doctor of Humane Letters: 1981
Joseph branch, Doctor of Laws: 1983
germaine bree, Doctor of Letters: 1969
david m. britt, Doctor of Laws: 1969
albert l. butler, Jr., Doctor of Laws: 1970
frank r. campbell, Doctor of Divinity: 1980
wallace carroll, Doctor of Letters: 1973
thomas l. cashwell, Jr., Doctor of Divinity: 1982
John w. chandler, Doctor of Humane Letters: 1968
Jude cleary, Doctor of Divinity: 1976
bonnie ethel cone, Doctor of Humanities: 1976
owen cooper, Doctor of Humanities: 1974
william henry crouch, Doctor of Divinity: 1981
william perry crouch, Doctor of Divinity: 1975
merrimon cuninggim, Doctor of Humanities: 1980
margaret truman daniel, Doctor of Humane Letters: 1973
angie debo, Doctor of Letters: 1978
peter devries, Doctor of Letters: 1980
ralph waldo ellison, Doctor of Letters: 1974
sam J. ervin, Jr., Doctor of Laws: 1971
william w. finlator, Doctor of Divinity: 1973
benjamin c. fisher, Doctor of Divinity: 1971
gerald r. ford, Doctor of Laws: 1980
anne reynolds forsyth, Doctor of Humanities: 1972
stanley frank, Doctor of Humanities: 1981
louise futrell, Doctor of Humanities: 1983
John william gilbert, Doctor of Laws: 1983
phillip a. griffiths, Doctor of Science: 1973
ralph p. hanes, Doctor of Laws: 1973
charles u. harris, Doctor of Humane Letters: 1980
rosemary harris, Doctor of Fine Arts: 1976
shearon harris, Doctor of Laws: 1978
James m. hayes, sr., Doctor of Divinity: 1974
James montgomery hester, Doctor of Divinity: 1974
samuel richardson hill, Jr., Doctor of Science: 1979
Joseph h. hirshhorn, Doctor of Fine Arts: 1976
claude f. howell, Doctor of Humanities: 1975
James b. hunt, Jr., Doctor of Laws: 1982
robert e.r. huntley, Doctor of Laws: 1971
peter Jay, Doctor of Letters: 1979
barbara Jordan, Doctor of Laws: 1975
John d. larkins, Jr., Doctor of Laws: 1977
robert lindgren, Doctor of Fine Arts: 1976
w. randall lolley, Doctor of Divinity: 1971
John alexander mcmahon, Doctor of Laws: 1978
lex marsh, Doctor of Laws: 1970
graham a. martin, Doctor of Laws: 1969
martin mayer, Doctor of Letters: 1977
hazel frances moon, Doctor of Humanities: 1982
dan K. moore, Doctor of Laws: 1968
bill d. moyers, Doctor of Letters: 1970
arnold d. palmer, Doctor of Laws: 1970
terisio pignatti, Doctor of Fine Arts: 1976
lewis f. powell, Jr., Doctor of Laws: 1975
reynolds price, Doctor of Letters: 1979
porter routh, Doctor of Divinity: 1978
arthur rubinstein, Doctor of Fine Arts: 1976
colin stokes, Doctor of Laws: 1977
frank thompson, Jr., Doctor of Humanities: 1977
william w. van alstyne, Doctor of Laws: 1976
walter raleigh wagoner, Doctor of Divinity: 1983
william hampton wagoner, Doctor of Laws: 1981
John f. watlington, Jr., Doctor of Laws: 1969
James e. webb, Doctor of Science: 1969
alvin m. weinberg, Doctor of Science: 1974
John c. whitaker, Doctor of Laws: 1968
thomas g. wicker, Doctor of Letters: 1976
harris l. wofford, Jr., Doctor of Laws: 1982
barnes woodhall, Doctor of Science: 1975
t. eugene worrell, Doctor of Humanities: 1979
n each of the sixteen chapters (Two through Seventeen) that cover the years of the Scales
recipients of honorary degrees in that particular year, awarded usually at
Commencement, are mentioned. I have thought it helpful to list each of them again here, in
alphabetical order, together with the degree received and the year in which it was given.
Previous Page Next Page