historical lists
sports hall of fame
murray greason: outstanding athlete and coach during a career spanning four decades; earned
12 letters in football and basketball; coached basketball team to 288 victories (1935–1959); led
team to first-ever NCAA Tournament (1939) and 1953 Southern Conference title.
brian piccolo: one of most beloved Wake Forest athletes; 1964 All-American and ACC Player of
the Year; led nation in rushing (1044 yards) and scoring (111 points) in ’64; played for Chicago
Bears until dying of cancer at age 26.
peahead walker: winningest football coach in Wake Forest history; recorded 77 victories
(77–51–6) in 14 seasons; led Deacs to Gator Bowl (1946) and Dixie Bowl (1949); coached four
teams ranked in top twenty.
Jim weaver: administrative leader at Wake Forest and in the ACC; served as Athletic Director
from 1937–1954; first Commissioner of ACC; directed the Conference to national prominence
from 1954–1970.
arnold palmer: the greatest name in golf; two-time NCAA individual champion (1949 & 1950);
first-ever ACC Tournament Medalist (1953); tremendous PGA career includes more than 60
tommy byrne: pitching star on Deacon teams from 1937–1940; led school to Southern Confer-
ence title as a sophomore; pitched in four World Series with New York Yankees; 16–5 record in
1955 was best in American League.
harry rabenhorst: played four sports at Wake Forest; served as football player-coach in 1918
& 1919; legendary career includes a punt for 110 years (89 yards in air) vs. N.C. State; outstanding
basketball coach at LSU for 29 years.
n Chapter Five the creation of the Wake Forest Sports Hall of Fame is remembered, and the
four inductees are mentioned. In subsequent chapters, year by year, other athletes so
honored are listed in the section labeled “The Year in Athletics.” The following comprehensive
list of honorees provides more details about each of the twenty-eight athletes inducted,
beginning in 1970–1971 and continuing through 1982–1983. The language following each name
comes from a plaque on the wall of the ground floor in the Bridger Field House, where all these
athletes are publicly honored.
Previous Page Next Page