| the history of wake forest
(Physical Education), thomas turner (Phys-
ics), c.h. richards (Political Science), John
williams (Psychology), george griffin (Reli-
gion), mary frances robinson (Romance Lan-
guages), e. pendleton banks (Sociology and
Anthropology), and franklin shirley (Speech).
u administrative notes
Professor of Psychology robert c. beckii was
named Director of the new Office for Research,
established to coordinate and facilitate re-
search projects of the Wake Forest faculty.
dr. a.J. “Jack” crutchfield (B.A., Wake For-
est, 1938; M.D., Virginia) was appointed con-
sultant in clinical services for the University’s
Student Health Service.
Visiting Professor vergilius ferm was serv-
ing as interim chairman of Philosophy. During
the school year Associate Professor of History
richard c. barnett (’54) and Associate Pro-
fessor of English John a. carter Jr. were ap-
pointed chairs of their respective departments,
replacing Stroupe and Wilson.
craven e. williams (B.A., Wake Forest, 1962),
assistant director of development and alumni
affairs since 1965, resigned to become vice
president for development at Mary Baldwin
See Beck’s article, “Research at Wake Forest,” in The Wake Forest Magazine, XVI (May 1969),
21–23, for a discussion of the University’s first Intra-University Research Symposium, held on April
10–11, 1969.
u student notes
Two seniors—Jo cheryl exum of Kinston and
richard t. williams of Mount Holly—were
awarded Woodrow Wilson National Fellowships
for graduate study. Williams also received the
first William E. Speas Memorial Award in
Physics, named for the late Professor Speas,
who taught at Wake Forest from 1920 to 1959.
Another senior—stephen t. wilson of Leaks-
ville—was awarded a Danforth Foundation
Fellowship, also for graduate study.
The Student for 1966–1967, under the editor-
ship of richard fallis (B.A., 1967), was given
an All-American Honor Rating for only the
second time in the magazine’s history.
frederick l. “chip” cooper iii of Murfrees-
boro was president of the student body for the
1967–68 school year; wendy farmer of Vir-
ginia Beach, Va., was president of the Women’s
Government Association; william h. over-
man Jr. of Roanoke, Va., was chairman of the
Men’s Judicial Board; f. edwin hallman Jr.
of Lithonia, Ga., was chairman of the Honor
Council; and J. Jeffrey kincheloe of Rocky
Mount was president of the College Union.
Previous Page Next Page