Chapter Ten: 1992–1993 161
Correspondent Charlayne Hunter-Gault of the MacNeil/Lehrer Report was the
Founders’ Day Convocation speaker. Peter Weigl (Biology) received the Outstand-
ing Advising Award. Fred Horton (Religion) received the seventh annual Jon Rein-
hardt Award for Distinguished Teaching. Claudia N. Thomas (English) was awarded
the Reid-Doyle Prize for Excellence in Teaching. John R. Earle (Sociology) received
the University’s Alumni Association Faculty Prize for Community Service. James ­
Fishbein (Chemistry) received the Award for Excellence in Research. Babcock Gradu-
ate School of Management faculty Robert E. Lamy, James G. Ptaszynski, and Gary
L. Shoesmith were honored with Sara Lee Excellence Awards. David Shores (Law)
received the Joseph Branch Award for Excellence in Teaching.
J. Tylee Wilson, former Chair of RJR Nabisco, established the J. Tylee Wil-
son Chair in Business Ethics in the Department of Communication with a gift of
$1.9  million in October.
On January 11, President Hearn met with David Brown, Ed Wilson, and Tom
Mullen to review faculty and departmental performance over the last ten years and
to look ahead to the next ten. As a follow-up in May, Hearn reviewed each faculty
member on probationary status. This practice would continue due to problems in the
tenure-evaluation process.
E. Pendleton Banks (Anthropology) spent five weeks during the summer in
Mongolia conducting research sponsored by the United Nations Educational, Sci-
entific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and the Mongolian government. Jack
Wilkerson (School of Business and Accountancy) was awarded a Price Waterhouse
Fellowship for Teaching Excellence. John Moorhouse, Professor of Economics, won
the 1993 Kenan Enterprise Award, recognizing liberal arts college and university fac-
ulty whose significant teaching and research furthered understanding and apprecia-
tion of the system of private enterprise found in the United States. Moorhouse was
nominated by Provost Brown.
Ten of Ed Wilson’s former students published a volume of scholarly essays in
his honor entitled English Romanticism: Preludes and Postulates. It was presented to
him on May 16. The project was conceived and developed by two who were longtime
faculty members: Donald Schoonmaker (’60), Professor of Political Science, and
David Hadley (’60), Professor of History. Unfortunately, Schoonmaker died before
the book was published.
Bynum Shaw (’48, Journalism) and his wife, Charlotte, established The Hum-
mingbird Press, a nonprofit enterprise aimed at giving talented young writers a pub-
lishing opportunity.
Enrollment in the School of Law was approximately 450, while 500 were enrolled
in the Babcock School of Management’s three programs when they moved into the
Worrell Professional Center. The Center’s completion marked the end of a five-year,
$65 million building program. It increased classroom, laboratory, library, and stu-
dent activity space by 45 percent without increasing the number of students. The
Office of University Relations completed fundraising for it on July 27, 1992, although
the public announcement came later.
The new Divinity School had commitments of $3 million by the end of the
1992–1993 academic year thanks to a $750,000 gift by Charles C. R. Council (’36)
and Frances Council. In their February meeting, the trustees continued pursuit of
Previous Page Next Page