196 The History of Wake Forest
Ettin, and James Hans had published eleven books in the previous two years. In addi-
tion, Robert Lovett, Dolly McPherson, Gail Sigal, and Kate Daniels had published
books in the 1990s.
Kathy Kron, Steve Gatesy, Gloria Muday, and Dave Anderson, junior mem-
bers of the Biology Department, received research grants from the National Sci-
ence Foundation (NSF). It was the first time in the department’s history that four
faculty had won NSF grants concurrently. Overall, in the last six months of 1994,
the amount of externally funded research on the Reynolda Campus increased
74 percent over the same period in the previous year. The dollar amount was
$1.5 million.
Fred Howard (Mathematics) ended his term as Editor of Fibonacci Quarterly.
David Waddill, a New York investment manager, made a $350,000 gift to establish
the Marcellus Waddill Excellence in Teaching Award in honor of his father, who
joined the Mathematics Department in 1962. The award’s purpose was to recog-
nize two recipients annually who were exemplary as teachers, one on the elemen-
tary level (K–6) and another on the secondary level (7–12). Each would receive a
$20,000 “no-strings-attached” cash award. It was given for the first time during
Founders’ Day.
William K. Meyers (History) was awarded a Fulbright grant to study problems
confronting Peru, Argentina, and Brazil. As part of a group of twelve scholars, he
toured the three countries, meeting with government representatives and other offi-
cials in and out of the political system. Perry Patterson (Economics) served as an
adviser with the United States Agency for International Development to the National
Bank of Ukraine. Helga Welsh (Political Science) oversaw German national and state
elections during October. Maya
Angelou (Humanities) recited a
poem at the United Nations’ fif-
tieth anniversary celebration in
June, and C. David Bowen (Music)
became Director of the Wake Forest
Marching Band.
Catherine T. Harris (Sociology)
received the Award for Excellence in
Advising at the new-student convo-
cation. Robert Brehme (Physics)
received the Jon Reinhardt Award
for Distinguished Teaching during
fall convocation. Suzanne Reynolds
(Law) received the Joseph Branch
Excellence in Teaching Award.
Anne Boyle ­(English) received
the Omicron Delta Kappa Award
for her contributions to student
life; Simone Caron (History) won
the Reid-Doyle Prize for Excel-
lence in Teaching; Dale  Dagenbach
Marcellus Waddill, his wife, Shirley, and son
David Waddill
Previous Page Next Page