214 The History of Wake Forest
of North Carolina. In Music, Dan Locklair was named the 1996 American Guild
of Organists Composer of the Year in recognition of his significant contributions
to symphonic and concert music, and Peter Kairoff (Music) gave a series of well-
received piano concerts in Brazil. James A. Martin Jr. (Interdisciplinary Studies)
received the National Faculty Award from the Association of Graduate Liberal Studies
Programs. Betsy Hoppe was promoted to Assistant Dean and Director of Information
Technology at the Calloway School of Business and Accountancy. Phil Falkenberg
(Sociology) and Larry West (German and Russian) were co-winners of the Award for
Excellence in Advising. James T. Powell (Classical Languages) received the Reid-Doyle
Prize for Excellence in Teaching. Terry Blumenthal (Psychology) received the Award
for Excellence in Research; and Ron Wright (Law) received the Joseph Branch Excel-
lence in Teaching Award from the Law School. The University’s highest recognition,
though, went to administrators Lu Leake and Mark Reece, who were presented with
the Medallion of Merit.
Among emeritus professors, Richard C. Barnett (History) received the Donald
O. Schoonmaker Faculty Award for Community Service. Ralph S. Fraser (German
and Russian) received the Jon Reinhardt Award for Distinguished Teaching, and
Harold M. Barrow (Health and Sports Science) received the Hetherington Award,
the highest award bestowed by the National Academy of Kinesiology.
Maya Angelou (Humanities) campaigned for Marion Berry as mayor of Wash-
ington, D.C., and participated in the Million Man March. President Hearn defended
her from outside letters of criticism in November and called her a “caring and dedi-
cated professor.” He also defended her from critics who objected to children reading
her autobiography, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.
Sam Gladding (President’s Office) served as interim chair of the Department of Reli-
gion. He helped the department calm down its rhetoric, settle interpersonal conflicts, and
find a new permanent chair: Charles Kimball, an Oklahoma Baptist with a specialty
in Islam. Charles Talbert resigned from the department to take an endowed chair at
Baylor University. President Hearn wrote Talbert a letter on April 16 thanking him
for his service. Because there was a perception that Talbert was being forced out by other
members of the Department of Religion, the President
also wrote to Princeton Theological Seminary students,
who were Wake Forest graduates, informing them that
Talbert’s decision caught the University by surprise. He
said that Talbert felt a calling to go to Baylor after thirty-
three years at Wake Forest. He also informed them on
May 7 that Charles Kimball would become the new
department chair.
Graduate Dean Gordon Melson wrote a memo on
May 8 informing the President, Provost, and Execu-
tive Vice President for Health Affairs that the Graduate
School of Arts and Sciences had approved an MD/PhD
program. Students would begin matriculating in the
fall of 1997.
In 1995, the endowed professors on the Reynolda
Campus were as follows: Z. Smith Reynolds Professors
Charles Talbert
Previous Page Next Page