286 The History of Wake Forest
S. Bruce King (Chemistry) was awarded one of six 1999 Henry Dreyfus Teacher-
Scholar Awards. The $60,000 awards, given by the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foun-
dation, recognize early-career faculty for their teaching, mentorship, and research,
primarily with undergraduates, in the chemical sciences. Funds provided salary
support, research equipment, and supplies for undergraduate student research-
ers in King’s lab. Biology Professor Gerald Esch won the 1999 Mentor Award from
the American Society of Parasitologists, recognizing his extraordinary leadership in
training young scientists and influencing the research and graduate education of a
department, college, or institution.
Fred Howard (Mathematics and Computer Science) was elected President of the
Fibonacci Association, an international, 700-member group focused on the study of
elementary number theory and combinational analysis.
At the Calloway School, Annette Lytle Ranft (Business) was named the Exxon-
Wayne Calloway Faculty Fellow. Clay Hipp (Calloway) stepped down as the Univer-
sity’s judicial officer to work full-time as a senior lecturer.
Allan Louden (Communication) received the George Ziegelmueller Award from
the National Debate Tournament Board of Trustees in May 2000. The award was
presented to a faculty member who had earned distinction in the communication
profession while coaching debate teams to competitive success at the National Debate
Tournament. Wake Forest’s performance at the tournament in the last ten years
included a national championship in 1997, three final-four teams, four final-eight
teams, six top sixteen teams, and eleven other teams who qualified for the elimination
rounds. The debate squad had been ranked among the nation’s top ten programs in
every year of the preceding decade.
Wake Forest chemistry graduate student Thomas Poole and professor Bruce King talk
about their research
Previous Page Next Page