314 The History of Wake Forest
Pedersen, Director of Human Resources, to help her monitor and evaluate progress
toward the goals and keep the administration informed. In one response, the Univer-
sity Police Department secured a $200,000 grant from the U.S. Department of Justice
to develop strategies to combat violence against women on campus. In disappointing
news, the Trustees deferred construction of a day-care center ($5 million), estimat-
ing it would cost $250,000 a year for the University to subsidize it. However, they did
approve faculty representation on Trustee Committees. Faculty chosen by the Senate
would begin to serve in April 2001. In a November 8 letter, Senate President David
Levy (Music) thanked President Hearn for this decision and the other “good work
you do on our behalf [that] often goes unseen and unacknowledged.”
On the Reynolda Campus, beginning September 1, certain benefits already pro-
vided to spouses of full-time University employees were extended to same-gender
domestic partners, including health and dental insurance and tuition concessions.
On November 3, President Hearn wrote that three recommendations from Ralph
Pedersen and the Senate were being implemented: increasing the allowable contri-
bution of pre-tax dollars to the medical flexible spending account from $2,000 to
$4,000; a six-week paid maternity leave policy for staff; and changing the qualifica-
tion for long-term disability so that employees received help when unable to do their
job, rather than when totally disabled.
On September 13, Edwin Wilson was appointed Chair of the Provost Search
Committee, with Reid Morgan providing staff support. Members of the commit-
tee were Deborah Best (Psychology), Stewart Carter (Music), Timothy Davis (Law),
Mary DeShazer (English), Frederick Harris, Betsy Hoppe (Calloway School), Bradley
Jones (Chemistry), Bill Leonard (Divinity), Minta McNally (Alumni Relations), John
Moorhouse (Economics), and Sally Shumaker (Medical School).
In new appointments announced July 1, 2000, Doug Edgeton (Medical School)
was appointed Senior Vice President for Health Affairs. Reid Morgan was named
General Counsel, replacing Leon Corbett, who became Senior Counsel. At WFDD,
Linda Ward became Executive Director of Station Development, while Jay Banks
(’74, MBA’76) became interim station manager for six months until taking on the
position permanently in April. Larry Schooler and Renee Boyd joined as general
assignment reporters for the news staff.
Mary Gerardy, Assistant Vice President for Student Life, was appointed Coordi-
nator of Gay and Lesbian Students as the result of a study conducted by the Student
Life Committee at President Hearn’s request. Its most disturbing finding was that
both subtle and direct harassment and hostility were frequently directed toward gay
students. In her new role, Gerardy provided information, support, and programming
for gay and lesbian students and acted as a staff liaison and resource for other campus
constituencies addressing concerns. A lounge in the Benson University Center was
authorized for the Gay-Straight Student Alliance.
Nancy Crouch was promoted to Assistant Chief Information Officer and Anne
Bishop to Director of Research and Development in the Information Systems Depart-
ment. Robin M. Sorensen was named Assistant Director of Institutional Research.
District III of the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education
(CASE) gave the University Advancement office its highest recognition in the institu-
tional projects category for its involvement in the presidential debate. The University
Previous Page Next Page