Chapter Nineteen: 2001–2002 331
“most wired colleges,” the only North Carolina
school ranked in the top twenty, and the home-
page,, won the award for
best web portal. The School of Law’s LLM pro-
gram for international students was ranked
eighth in the nation by American Universities
Admissions Program, a private student-recruit-
ing firm.
Many faculty achieved international and
national recognition. Poet-in-residence Jane
Mead won a 2002 Guggenheim Fellowship
from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial
Foundation for “exceptional creative ability in
the arts.” George Aldhizer (Calloway) received
the Institute of Internal Auditors’ 2001 Leon R.
Radde International Educator of the Year award
at its international conference in Buenos Aires,
Argentina. The National Communication Association honored Michael Hyde, Uni-
versity Distinguished Professor of Communication Ethics, with two awards for his
book, The Call of Conscience: Heidegger and Levinas, Rhetoric and the Euthanasia
Debate: the Diamond Anniversary Book Award, given yearly to the most outstanding
scholarly book, and the Marie Hockmuth Nichols Award for Outstanding Scholar-
ship in Public Address.
John Llewellyn (Communication) analyzed the professional language of Divi-
sion I men’s college basketball coaches for nearly two decades. His research revealed
four recurring themes among both winning and losing coaches, and he contributed
a chapter on this language, “Coachtalk,” to Case Studies in Sport Communication
(Praeger, 2003), edited by Robert S. Brown and Daniel J. O’Rourke III.
Michael Kent Curtis (Law) received the Mayflower Cup for his book Free Speech,
the People’s Darling Privilege: Struggles for Freedom of Expression in American History
(Duke University Press, 2000). The annual award from the North Carolina Literary
and Historical Association recognizes the best nonfiction work by a North Carolin-
ian. The book also received the national Hugh M. Hefner First Amendment Award.
Mark Welker (Chemistry) spent the 2001–2002 academic year as a program offi-
cer with the National Science Foundation in Arlington, Virginia. Ron Dimock (Biol-
ogy), Dilip Kondepudi (Chemistry), and Paul Ribisl (Health and Exercise Science)
were named Wake Forest Professors. Herman Eure (PhD ’74, Biology) received the
Jon Reinhardt Award for Excellence in Teaching.
The Divinity School named Jill Crainshaw (’84) Associate Dean for Vocational
Formation. Previously, her title was Director of Vocational Development. Through
an anonymous gift made available in 2001, Doug Bailey, for twenty-three years the
rector of Trinity Episcopal Church in Memphis, became Professor of Urban Ministry
and brought his own nonprofit Center for Urban Ministry to the Divinity School.
The Babcock Graduate School of Management launched the Babcock Demon
Incubator on November 13 in the 1,200-square-foot basement of a University-
owned house on University Drive. It could host between three and five tenants at one
Michael Hyde
Previous Page Next Page