334 The History of Wake Forest
Throughout the year, some faculty complained that they were not being ade-
quately compensated in comparison with their counterparts at other institutions.
The President responded in an April letter that salaries had improved over the past
three years, 17.6 percent for full professors, 15.9 percent for associate professors, and
14.4 percent for assistant professors. He also promised that the salaries and operat-
ing budget would increase during the 2002–2003 academic year. Nevertheless, the
argument continued, with each side claiming the other’s figures were inaccurate or
Thirty-eight new faculty joined the Reynolda Campus: thirty-two became part
of the College of Arts and Sciences; three, the Calloway School of Business and
Accountancy; two, the School of Law; and one, the Babcock Graduate School of
In a faculty-related event, the Wake Forest Club, composed of the wives of male
faculty members for the most part, ceased operations. Numbers and interest in the
club had dwindled over time since its inception in 1948. In addition, many spouses
of faculty members were working full-time.
Administration and Staff
On March 14, President Hearn named William (Bill) C. Gordon (’68, MA ’70), Pres-
ident of the University of New Mexico since 1999, the next Provost, to begin on
September 1. Gordon had been an active leader during his student days, and he was
named “Man of the Year” by the Old Gold and Black in 1968. He was attracted back
to the University because he thought Wake Forest combined the best features of both
a liberal arts college and a research university.
In another senior appointment, William B. Applegate was named Dean of
the School of Medicine and Senior Vice President of Wake Forest Health Sciences
effective April 1, 2002. Richard H. Dean, President and CEO of WFHS, made the
announcement on February 6. Applegate was Chair of the Department of Internal
Medicine, a position he assumed in January 1999, and Co-chair of Wake Forest Uni-
versity Physicians. C. Douglas Maynard, recently
retired Chair of Radiology, served as Acting Dean
and chaired the search committee when James N.
Thompson resigned effective July 1, 2001. A mem-
ber of the faculty since 1979, Thompson became
Dean in 1994 and was named a Vice President in
1997. He remained on the faculty as a professor of
Phil Hendrix was appointed the Reynolda
Campus Director of Purchasing. David Fyten,
former University editor and Assistant Vice Presi-
dent for Public Affairs, stepped down to become
a part-time staff writer and to pursue other
opportunities. Cherin Poovey, former Director
of Publications and Associate University Edi-
tor, was named Director of Creative Services. Bill Gordon
Previous Page Next Page