336 The History of Wake Forest
losing in the NCAA regional playoffs to Richmond.
The men’s tennis team broke into the top twenty-
five nationally for the first time in its history, reach-
ing number 22 in late March after a 10–1 start.
Men and women’s club crew teams were
formed, and both had success. The men’s team won
a set of medals at a regatta in Washington, D.C.,
and the women’s team won the novice division at
the West Virginia Governor’s Cup. The teams were
coached by Sam Williamson, captain of the men’s
team, and Ben Cook, who had rowed for Clemson
for four years. The women’s team captain was Jill
Coleman. Combined, they had about twenty-five
members and practiced on Salem Lake.
The volleyball team finished with a 20–11
record (10–7 in the ACC). Seniors Maso de Moya and Margaret Davidson earned all-
ACC honors and were selected for the first and second teams, respectively.
In women’s tennis, junior Bea Bielik won the NCAA singles title in spring 2002 to
become the first Wake Forest female athlete to win a national title. She was also named
the ACC Female Athlete of the Year in July 2002, the first time a Wake Forest woman
had won. Bielik was given the Marge Crisp Award as the top female athlete at Wake
Forest. She teamed with Janet Bergman to win doubles titles in many tournaments
over the year as well, and they came in second in the NCAA doubles competition.
Dianne Dailey was selected LPGA Coach of the Year, while head men’s track and
field coach Noel Ruebel resigned and was replaced by Gary Sievers. Seniors Rachel
Burns (women’s track) and Maren Haus (tennis) received the ACC’s Jim Weaver
Award, recognizing exceptional achievement on the field and in the classroom.
Nathan Sisco, a junior, won the 2001 individual ACC cross country championship.
He was only the second Deacon to do so. Later in year, Sisco and teammate Chris
Estwanik qualified for the NCAA championships.
In addition to student-athlete achievements, Doug and Elizabeth Manchester
made a substantial monetary contribution to Wake Forest, and the Athletic Center,
built in 1979, was renamed in their honor to become known as the Manchester Ath-
letic Center.
The Arts
The University’s Writers Reading series began on October 11 with a poetry reading
by Carl Phillips. Other participants included novelist Julie Edelson (English, MALS);
poet, scholar, and journalist Ted Genoways; and novelist and Duke University English
Professor Joe Ashby Porter. The University Theatre produced John Guare’s The House
of Blue Leaves; William Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream; Sam Shepard’s
A Lie of the Mind; and Frances Hodgson Burnett’s The Secret Garden. The Anthony
Aston Players performed All in the Timing, a one-act play by David Ives, and The Boys
Next Door by Tom Griffin in the Ring Theatre.
Jay Banks (’74, MBA ’76)
Previous Page Next Page