388 The History of Wake Forest
with $361 million for the Reyn-
olda Campus and $256 million
the Bowman Gray Campus.
Hearn retired to an office on
the fourth floor of the Z. Smith
Reynolds Library soon after
commencement and would work
there until his death in 2008. He
used that time to reflect on his
presidency and to receive both
visitors and accolades. For exam-
ple, he received the 2005 Chief
Executive Leadership Award by
the Council for the Advance-
ment and Support of Education
(CASE) District III.
A presidential search committee and two advisory committees were formed
in the summer of 2004, and the A.T. Kearney Executive Search firm was retained
to assist them. Murray Greason (’59, JD ’62), Winston-Salem attorney and chair
of the trustees, chaired the search committee, which included six other Trustees—
L. Glenn Orr Jr., K. Wayne Smith (’60), William B. Greene Jr. (’59), Simpson O.
Brown Jr. (’77, MBA ’86), Deborah Dixon Lambert (’78), and James A. Dean; two
current faculty members, Judy Karen Brunso-Bechtold (Neurobiology and Anat-
omy) and Michele K. Gillespie (History); two retired faculty members, C. Douglas
Maynard (’55, MD ’59) and Edwin G. Wilson (’43); and Bobbi Acord (’86, JD ’89),
President of the Law Alumni Council. Nine of the twelve members were alumni.
The search committee met for the first time from July 29 to August 1 at the
Summer Leadership Conference, a gathering of alumni leaders and volunteer board
members from the College, Calloway School, graduate and professional schools. The
committee also scheduled four campus forums in September for alumni and others
to share their opinions. Individuals were encouraged to visit a website devoted to the
presidential search; to read the first draft of a candidate profile describing the attri-
butes desired in the next president; and to email comments to the committee.
The faculty advisory committee was composed of Chester “Chet” Miller ­
(Babcock), Gordon E. McCray (’85, Calloway), Douglass M. Bailey (’60, Divinity),
Charles P. Rose Jr. (Law), Judy Brunso-Bechtold (Neurobiology and Anatomy),
Michele K. Gillespie (History), Katy J. Harriger (Political Science), Richard E. Heard
(Music), Win-Chiat Lee (Philosophy), Barry G. Maine (English), Eric “Rick” Mat-
thews (Physics), and Gloria K. Muday (Biology).
The volunteer boards and councils advisory committee was made up of Bobbi
Jo Acord (’86, JD ’89, Atlanta), Thomas Rannels Blank (’74, Arlington, VA), Shelmer
Doyle Blackburn (’82, Raleigh), Fred Guthrie Crumpler (JD ’57, Winston-Salem),
David Wright Dupree (MBA ’78, Washington, DC), Mr. and Mrs. James M. Hoak
Jr. (Dallas, Parents Council), Ann A. Johnston (MBA ’81, Winston-Salem), Bradley
David Kendall (’89, Atlanta), Mitesh Bharat Shah (’91, Atlanta), James Thomas Stone
(’70, Raleigh), Mary Ann Hampton Taylor (’56, MD ’60, Winston-Salem), George
Todd Turner (’95, Raleigh), and John W. Wagster (’57, Nashville).
The Quad was named Hearn Plaza in honor of
Thomas K. Hearn Jr.
Previous Page Next Page