42 The History of Wake Forest
An Unbelievable Golf Championship
On May 31, the Wake Forest men’s golf team under Coach Jesse Haddock capped a
great year. Playing on its home course, Bermuda Run Country Club, the team rallied
from sixteen strokes down to win its third NCAA Golf Championship on the final day
of the tournament, beating the heavily favored Oklahoma State University team by
four strokes. Chris Kite, Billy Andrade, and Len Mattiace finished in the top twenty.
“I’ve been in sports all of my life and golf twenty-five years,” Haddock said after the
victory, “but I have never seen anything like this.” Rounding out the team were Tim
Straub and Barry Fabyan.
Complementing the men’s victory, although less dramatically, the impressive
women’s golf team under Coach Mary Beth McGirr won the ACC Tournament
Championship. Brenda Corrie won top honors in individual competition.
Richard Groves, new pastor of the Wake Forest Baptist Church, was the speaker at the
Opening Convocation on September 3. Betty Ford, wife of former President ­ Gerald
Ford, was the Founders’ Day convocation speaker on February 4. The Jon Reinhardt
Award for Distinguished Teaching was established and slated to be given for the first
time at the Opening Convocation in fall 1986.
In another noteworthy milestone, Wake Forest University Press marked its tenth
anniversary in May 1986. Established by English Professor Dillon Johnston, the press
was (and still is) the premier publisher of Irish poetry in the United States.
1986 Men’s NCAA national championship team
Previous Page Next Page