76 The History of Wake Forest
Allen Easley, Professor Emeritus of Religion, turned
95, a milestone noted by many. He had been awarded the
Medallion of Merit in 1972, and although no longer active
in the classroom, he was a deeply beloved and respected
figure, regularly seen on campus. The University would
later name a campus street in his honor. At the birthday
celebration in April, John William Angell was named the
first John Allen Easley Professor of Religion.
Finally, a report on Reynolda Campus faculty salaries
noted that they had increased for all ranks an average of
34 percent over the last five years. The average increase at
the instructor level was 46.6 percent; for assistant profes-
sors, 40.6 percent; associate professors, 34.9 percent; and
professors, 31.2 percent. Still, an Old Gold and Black editorial noted that instructor
and assistant professor salaries were considerably lower than those at comparable
institutions, and if starting salaries were too low, Wake Forest would not attract top-
quality entry-level faculty for the coming years.
Administration and Staff
Turnover at the two Reynolda campus professional schools, Law and Business, and reor-
ganization of other administrative offices marked major transitions during the year.
Dean John Scarlett of the Law School announced his retirement in March 1988. He had
been Dean since 1979 and now planned to retire in June 1989. Under his leadership, the
student/faculty ratio improved from 31.5:1 to 17:1; the national average for law school
class sizes at the time was 25:1. In addition, the Law School reduced its dependence on
tuition by 18 percent and was in the forefront in classroom use of electronic technology.
The Moot Court teams won the national championship in 1987, and two teams would
finish in the final sixteen in Dallas in 1989. A joint program developed with the Babcock
Graduate School of Management led to a combined law and business degree (JD/MBA).
A search committee headed by Ken Zick was appointed to find Scarlett’s replacement.
Robert W. Shively, Dean of the Babcock Graduate School of Management, also
submitted his resignation, effective June 30, 1988. President Hearn selected Tom
Maya Angelou
Alan Easley William Angel
Previous Page Next Page