Provost Faculty Newsletter AY 2012-13
Articles DUE to Deb Alty Emailed to Faculty
Monday, October 29 Friday, November 2
Monday, January 14 Friday, January 18
Monday, March 18 Friday, March 22
Monday, May 6 Friday, May 10
Thank you for your attention to this newsletter.
The Provost’s Office seeks your comments and
suggestions; please contact Rogan Kersh.
SAVE THE DATE
The Office of the Provost and
Baylor University will host a
national conference,
“After the Genome: A Language
for our Biotechnological Future.”
Leading scholars from a variety of
disciplines will discuss how-
language is shaping medical
ethics, religion, and competing
visions of our biotechnological
future.
Friday, April 12, and Saturday, April 13, 2013,
Benson University Center; to register:
https://pdc.wfu.edu/event/5272/
ZSR Faculty Awards
Congratulations to Z. Smith Reynolds Library faculty Rosalind Tedford and Hu Womack, co-winners of this year's
College Award for Excellence in Academic Advising. It was presented at the New Student Convocation in
recognition of their exceptional work in undergraduate advising.
Summer Nonprofit Immersion Program
This IPE program combines a high-quality educational experience with a structured internship placement and
vocational reflection. See ipe.wfu.edu/student-resources/summer-nonprofit-immersion to find out about the
successful 2012 program.
Film Premiere: Faces of Courage: Wake Forest’s Impetus to Desegregate
Friday, September 21, 3:00 P.M., Brendle Recital Hall; facesofcourage.wfu.edu
In the 1950s and 1960s, many of Wake Forest’s peer universities faced court-ordered integration. As a private
institution, WFU was not under federal mandate. The process of desegregation was prompted primarily via
student petitioning and protest. Watch the film and find out how and why we were the first major private univer-
sity in the South to integrate from those directly involved in the decision, including Ed Reynolds, the first student
to integrate Wake Forest.
Previous Page